Poets logo

"Identity Unveiled: Why my surname?"

By 𝔖𝔞𝔫𝔡𝔥𝔲Published 9 months ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Image Hunter: Pexel

I am a human, why my surname?

A label given, a heritage's claim,

In letters and sounds, it's written so plain,

But what's in a name, what does it contain?

It carries a history, a story untold,

Generations before me, their tales unfold,

In the syllables whispered, in the letters' embrace,

Lies a legacy woven, a cultural space.

From lands far and wide, it did journey to me,

A gift from my roots, a branch of my tree,

Each consonant, vowel, a link to the past,

A connection to people who made me at last.

But I am more than this name that I bear,

A soul with dreams, burdens to bear,

I am more than a label, a tag, or a sign,

I am human, with thoughts, feelings, and time.

So, I'll wear my surname with honor and grace,

Remembering those who came to this place,

But I'll also remember, in the depth of my core,

That I am a human, with much to explore.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

𝔖𝔞𝔫𝔡𝔥𝔲

Exploring the world, Capturing Moment, Sharing Stories and Inspiring Adventures

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.