Poets logo

I Wrote A Letter

Can't believe I thought that would work.

By HufflecupPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18

I wrote a letter.

I think my mistake was listening to my friends.

What can two people in love know about you and me?

I guess I was feeling reckless.

I bared my soul on the page and we went for a drive.

It was like a no good really cheesy movie.

With pretty slim chances of a happy ending.

I don't know what I was thinking.

Three years too early to blame it on the drinking.

I wrote a letter.

My mistake was listening to my heart.

I waited and wondered what you looked like while reading it.

Did it even make you happy for a minute

Or was the best I would ever get always your pity?

I put on my rose-colored glasses.

All I saw was best friends to lovers.

It just helped me cover up the tears.

I was so sure it all meant something.

That you were feeling just a fraction of my joy and pain.

Was the thought really so insane?

I wrote a letter.

How was I to know you'd write me too?

That was the end of me and you.

You got your friends to lovers.

I hope they treat you well.

I remember hearing about them and that feels swell.

I didn't learn my lesson.

I'm still writing letters.

Sometimes I'm writing songs when I'm not well.

I'll find the one who likes my letters.

Signed,

With Love

heartbreak
18

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.