Poets logo

I Wish I Never Knew

A Poem

By Gary RagnarssonPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
9
I Wish I Never Knew
Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

I wish I never knew.

Knowing too much is pain.

It’s history.

It’s jealousy.

It’s sadness, and judgement,

And regret.

If I never knew,

I’d never feel these feelings.

Feelings I know are unfair to feel.

Knowing is fear.

It’s walls, and apprehension,

The tentative embrace.

Knowing is expecting the worst,

And predicting the ending.

It’s the knowledge,

The sad, sad knowledge,

The unbearable knowledge,

Of the things we shouldn’t see.

The things we don’t want to see.

Knowing is inadequacy,

Knowing is eternal torture.

Knowing is the mistake.

It’s the curse.

Knowing is the death of all beginnings.

I wish I never knew.

🖤🖤🖤🖤🖤

If you liked this post, let me know by clicking the heart button and dropping me a follow here and over at Facebook! If you’re feeling extremely generous you could even tip me a cup of coffee ☕️ Or consider pledging a small monthly amount to support the creation of pieces just like this one 😊

slam poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Gary Ragnarsson

Deep thinker, stoic, and writer from the UK, sharing everything from philosophical insights to my most intimate, personal stories.

In a world consumed by chasing more, I’m over here embracing less on purpose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Poignant realism. This is an exceptional piece.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Knowledge can be an Achilles heel for sure

  • Profound piece 😉❤️💯

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Bravo! This is sublime and hits on some real hard truths! Loved it, every single damn line is well chosen and placed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.