Poets logo

I Wish I Had Told You

Real Poetic's Spilt Milk Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
I Wish I Had Told You
Photo by Motoki Tonn on Unsplash

I wish I had told you

When you were still you

How much I hated

The too much pints you

The falling asleep,

Face-planting a curry

The drenched jeans

Weekend in

Weekend out

Now I can tell you

You don't remember

Damn, Dementia, Damn

Damn, Damn, Damn

Along with your

eclectic taste in music

I inherited

Your addictive personality

So, thank you for that

Dad

*

Thanks for reading!

I feel this is self-explanatory.

It is another entry for the Spilt Milk Challenge run by Real Poetic, which you can find out more about here:

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • JBaz7 months ago

    I do not know what I was expecting but it wasn't this. A hard hitting powerful piece.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Very relatable, I bet this was cathartic!

  • Definitely self explanatory! It must have been hard for you to write this 🍩🥐

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    Dads.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Wow - Power- filled. And vivid! We all have dispositions to certain things but we can choose what we want to do & be to an extent (if only it were that easy though I know.) I’m not being very helpful, but I was transfixed by this piece!😔 Good luck in this challenge. I notice you have a few entries. I only just saw RP’s challenge today. Best wishes sent!!!!

  • For me, it's mom. Why is it always the irritating, annoying, negative traits we seem to inherit? (And why couldn't I have inherited my father's easy-going, outgoing manner?)

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    We have similar dads. 😕 Great submission for the challenge. There are some things we can never get closure for, because people can’t or won’t acknowledge how their actions impacted others.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Wow, a challenging relationship, to be sure. This was written well!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.