Poets logo

I Will Not be Silent

poetry

By Lynda SpargurPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
4

I haven’t been able to write for a while.

My head and heart are wrapped in emotion

It is difficult to put words on paper.

But here I am trying to get it out because I feel if I don’t,

I may never want to write again.

.

I feel trapped.

.

I am a conflict of emotion.

As Spock said in the movie Star Trek 2009,

I am emotionally compromised. And I am.

I am angry and sad, disappointed, and feeling betrayed.

People I thought were trustworthy have shown their true colors

And I have been urged not to respond.

.

It is hard.

.

I want to yell at them.

I want to get into their faces and scream at the top of my lungs.

But I can’t.

Because that would be unprofessional

That would lower me to their level.

And I don’t want to be that type of person.

.

So I seethe.

.

As they gather around me,

I hide behind this shell,

This fortress of a façade that I have built strong over years.

People think they know me.

They think that I am the funny, Mom-type

Working quietly in the corner and toeing the line.

.

I am an alligator.

.

I only expose ten percent of myself.

My eyes see all, and my ears hear all.

You may think you know the truth, but you know nothing.

They know nothing. Outside I am calm.

Outside I smile and make my enemies feel safe.

.

I am a lion.

.

Hear me roar.

My voice is low and steady.

My words carefully curated.

I wait for the perfect moment:

Lie still in the grass, don’t make a sound, don’t move.

I wait patiently for the time to pounce.

And when I pounce, they will realize what has happened.

.

Still, I wait.

.

These aren’t my friends.

I owe them nothing and nothing is what they will get.

Be silent I am told. Be professional.

Don’t do anything to draw attention to yourself.

Fine. I can withstand whatever they want to send my way.

I can take it. I can be silent.

.

But I am angry.

.

I am sad.

.

I am disappointed.

.

I feel betrayed.

.

But I am NOT scared.

.

I am NOT weak.

.

And when the time comes,

.

I will NOT be silent.

heartbreaksocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

Lynda Spargur

Screenwriter, Author, Creative Writer

Writer, dreamer, creator of new imaginary souls. Using my experiences to develop a better future. Crime stories, baseball and The Beach Boys are my passions.

Authors I love:

Tony

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Powerful!! Wow! So sorry you are experiencing this. I can relate!❤️

  • Omgggg! It's like you put the words in my mind on to paper! It was so relatable! Loved your powerful poem!

  • Tony Baca6 months ago

    Words from the heart so clear and concise. This is a masterpiece. A true tug a war of emotions felt far beyond the written word. My choice for Top Poem of November!! Never allow anything to silence your creativity.

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Very motivating poem, I must say. You do you, all the best!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.