Poets logo

I was too late to meet you sooner

but I can tell it is love

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was too late to meet you sooner

probably why I rushed to start my journey

I don't know why destiny had to make me walk slower

raised like I was porcelain

making me too cautious

never followed my brain chemistry

always pushing away the dopamine

now I put a label on it

found my place in the universe

now I know whom I'm supposed to be

impulses that were given to me by creation

a guardian of the natural order

I find myself in a happy place

and I finally met you

I had to know myself

before I could recognize my soul in another

now I can't forget you

I want my happiness and your happiness to coexist

why am I scared to talk to you

why should I be ashamed to say I write poems about you

that means you inspire me

to create something that makes me immortal

you make me feel so deeply

that I have to write it all down

the world should know the depth of my love for you

people should know that in this century

people still write Shakespearean love poems

now do you trust that I won't hurt you?

that all I am capable of feeling towards you is care

I only want you to do things that make you happy

I will take you as you are

all the quirks and the ghosts

the bad days inside

and the hard days between us

the desire to be at your side

will never fade

it comes from a place of respect and recognition

can I just tell you I want to be with you forever?

and then we start our lives together

because you have to be feeling this connection too

love poemsperformance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.