Poets logo

I wanted to reach out to you/but there was a cluttered nightstand

Wrote this piece a little bit ago based off a prompt from Todd Dillard. It was one of those "one and done" poems, and I really love how it turned out! I definitely feel like I'm going to use this prompt again.

By Sawyer Benjamin Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

with a Cola glass half empty, or half full

depending on which side of you

I would have met today.

I spent minutes, or months

blinking at it too, fighting off the urge

and you are another bad habit

I have failed to send down the drain,

waiting to rot me from the inside out.

Instead I sat and watched its subtle curves,

volumes it speaks without a word,

and questioned how much longer

I would continue to wait

for you to make space for me again.

I know that I am worth more than the crawl space

within your bedside drawer.

But, that does not mean that

I do not still dream about it.

Think back to the wooden panels

that once held us together,

raw and unsplintered,

unfinished beginnings

to a potential masterpiece

and let the caffeine addiction

make haze of my better judgement.

It is harder when I need you, too.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sawyer Benjamin

He/They. Queer, trans, survivor of stage four endometriosis. Author of Blink coming 02/21 and Rainbow Writers facilitator.

IG @ sbc.poetry

www.bigcartel.com/sbcpoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.