Poets logo

I Want You

Poetry about promises

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I Want You
Photo by Gabby Orcutt on Unsplash

Today, I cleaned my room

First time in forever

And went through my stuff

Found my old photographs

Both you and me together

We smiled and laughed a lot

Your sweatshirt was still here

I lifted it up in my hands

Rubbed my thumb against the cloth

Trying to remember the feeling

And then clutched it against my chest

Trying to recall the scent of you

It brings tears to my eyes

A soft laugh escaped my lips

As I thought about you

Your gentle smile, your soft voice

And your warm touch when you hold me

Looking back to our time we had shared

I never missed you more than ever

You promised me forever so long ago

Sometimes I wished you still kept it now

As much as I love you, I want you here

If you ever come back, don’t leave

I want you to stay.

And when you do…

Forever, like you promised.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.