Poets logo

I've Heard

Cries of an innocent child

By Anathi BunganiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've heard the cries of an innocent child

I've looked for reasons and I have not found

The instigator of all this blood shed

Women running at night in their tufted robes

Crying for all the lost souls.

We are all humans

Why are others treated like schlock

What is all this commotion of bones breaking from twisted necks?

I've heard the falsetto cries of a man falling from a gun

Children running like ants except it is not fun

Wasted childhood spent on the run

Hundreds fall at a single deft movement of a gun

Nothing makes sense to the old men when there is no son

Rain pouring abandoned by the sun.

Where have our voices went that we use bombs to communicate?

When did terrorism become a norm?

It's not ourselves we are fighting, death is the common enemy.

This is not our destiny

It seems like every child is born with a felony

Men quitting work, strangled by alimony

We are no longer looking forward to the future because the past smells so heavenly.

Grey hair and wrinkled faces wishing they could all go back to pre-2002

Where all lives mattered too

Praying for the ability,

To eradicate all this atrocity.

To a world were the values include humanity.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anathi Bungani

I was born and bred in Tabankulu, a small town in the Eastern Cape province in South Africa. I was born on 10 June 1999 and I am a writer. I used to recite poems in High School too. Please rate, share and tip my work. Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.