Poets logo

I though of you Today

A Kid's First Heartbreak Shouldn't be From a Parent

By Leigh SchillingPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I thought of you today

I wondered if you missed me

Or missed the idea of me

I thought of you today

And then I thought of her,

The woman lying next to you

I wondered if she knew.

I wondered if she knew

That to have her,

You had to give up me

I wondered if she knew

Just how much pain

You have caused me

Pain that I am still dealing with

And probably always will be

I thought of you today

I thought about what you were doing

On that day

The day I finally gave up

Were you watching the game?

We won that day.

At least somebody did, right?

I thought of you today

And I wondered if you were thinking of me to

You know,

Me.

The forgotten daughter

The one that you had for nearly fourteen years

The one you traded for a wife.

I thought of you today.

By Dimitri de Vries on Unsplash

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Leigh Schilling

My name is Leigh

I am a conundrum

I write to understand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.