Poets logo

I Think It Must Be

A love poem.

By KBPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Think It Must Be
Photo by kevin Xue on Unsplash

The day was the fifth of March

There was no particular occasion to be had

Besides the unexpecting you to come.

*

Meanwhile, I am caught in a cloud of change

Hoping to soon catch a break

Unknowing the ache would leave after the fifth of March.

*

And so, I crinkle my linen dress that rests on the bench,

My fingertips feeling every thread

As my head whirls vicious thoughts of anxiousness.

*

If only I knew what would soon be in front of me

I could maybe ease into a deep breath

But the death of the sun creates a cold frenzy.

*

Then a shadow creeps up as tall as a tree

And my skin is pinched with bumps

I become as still as a stump until the darkness moves.

*

Moves closer and closer until I can see

It is not a shadow, it is you

and your baby blue sweater welcomes a grin.

*

Is this how it feels to look and love?

Even without knowing the person

Or if this care will worsen and swell with time?

*

I think it must be.

*

Because why else would my heart

Turn into a bass guitar

And the spar in my mind could clear.

*

Because why else would I spend

The rest of my day

Reeling at the way your smile crooked.

*

Because why else would I have talked to you?

I don’t talk to strangers

So the chambers of my heart stay closed.

*

I think it must be love.

*

I didn’t know you then,

Not like I know you now

But somehow, I fell.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.