Poets logo

Spilled Milk

Crying over the little things.

By KBPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Courtesy @pamela_d_mcadams stock.adobe.com

They tell me not to cry over spilled milk

But what if I want to,

What if I want to cry over something insignificant

So I won't have to face the real reason

Why I'm crying.

***

They tell me not to cry over spilled milk

But what if it's not the milk?

Shouldn't you know by now that

It's not the milk? Why don't you ask me

Why I'm crying.

***

I tell myself not to cry over spilled milk

Because that's what I'm conditioned to do.

I tell this to myself,

Not acknowledging the real reason

Why I'm crying.

***

I'm crying because it is no longer

Just Spilled Milk

When it used to be so.

***

I'm crying because I mourn the little girl

Who's biggest worry was the mess

That others would help her clean up.

***

I wish I could cry loudly like her

Over something as insubstantial as

Spilled Milk.

And the caricatures in my head

Would soon become be quiet.

***

I can't change what's already been done.

Isn't that a good enough reason to cry?

***

So I will cry over spilled milk.

I just will.

Even when they tell me not to.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.