Poets logo

I think

failed love

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
9
I think
Photo by Filip Bunkens on Unsplash

I think about it all the time

I get caught up in this mess

I thought we d run and rule it

I was so wrong I guess

We had it, owned it, yet it shot it down

No one had to do a thing

We surrendered peacefully

And Pretend it doesn’t sting

We smile and go on living

Like life really hasn’t changed

like we didn’t sell our soul

For some pride and pocket change

The fragility of life and love we completely missed the mark

We gave a priceless gift away like trash dumped after dark

I can’t imagine what might have been

Its too painful to look back

So I’m sorry for the mistakes made

The apologies never spoken

Its over now lets dry the tears

And never give up hoping

The next time love comes knocking

Don’t be afraid to let it in

Just learn from us and surrender

There will be love again

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.