Poets logo

I swear it was locked…

Midway through, I heard a startling noise and turned to see the door slowly creaking open, a...

By spooky sessionPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
1
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

I was around 13 or 14 years old when this chilling incident occurred. Every weekend, I used to sleep over at my cousin's sprawling two-story house to spend the entire weekend playing games late into the night.

Despite being fully furnished, his cavernous home felt eerily empty and abandoned. Strange sounds and odd sightings were commonplace, but as young kids reveling in the darkness, getting spooked was par for the course.

One evening, while my cousin showered in his bathroom, I opted to use the master bedroom's ensuite since his parents were away, and it was just the two of us in the ominously quiet house.

I entered the bathroom, locked the door, and began showering. Midway through, I heard a startling noise and turned to see the door slowly creaking open, a shadowy figure peering in through the narrow gap.

Assuming I had mistakenly left the door ajar, I called out confidently, "It's occupied!" But the door didn't close. Instead, it lingered menacingly for a few more seconds until the spectral intruder slowly closed it.

When I finished showering and tried to exit, I realized with dread that the door was locked from the inside.

That was the final night I ever slept over at my cousin's foreboding home, and to this day, I remain haunted by the identity of the phantom intruder at the door.

inspirationalMental Healthhumorhow toheartbreakBlackoutart
1

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Geesh! Is this true or fiction? Scary either way but if true 🙀🙀🙀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.