Poets logo

Never install a doggie door bell

We installed a doggie doorbell so that when my dog's friend came over, the dogs' owner could ring the doorbell and we could let them play together. One time when I was about 15 years old, my parents were at work and the doggie doorbell kept ringing. I looked out the window and saw no one was there. Later that day, the...

By spooky sessionPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Like
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

We installed a doggie doorbell so that when my dog's friend came over, the dogs' owner could ring the doorbell and we could let them play together.

One time when I was about 15 years old, my parents were at work and the doggie doorbell kept ringing. I looked out the window and saw no one was there. Later that day, the doggie doorbell rang again. It was my dog's friend, so I put them outside to play. I talked to the owner, who said they hadn't come by, so I assumed some kids were pranking us.

Everything seemed fine until later that night at 2 AM when the doorbell rang again. I looked outside and saw a tall man standing near the doorbell. I ran to tell my mom, then we locked all the doors and windows and closed the blinds. When we woke up, the doors were unlocked and the blinds opened.

We called the cops, but they said there was nothing they could do. We continued seeing this man outside ringing the doorbell every night around 2-3 AM. Our dog died a couple years later, so we threw away the doorbell and the ringing stopped.

A couple years later, I moved into my own house, got another dog, and installed a new doggie doorbell. Everything was normal until one night I saw the man with the doorbell in one hand and my old, dead dog's ashes in the other.

The next day, the news reported an old man who escaped from a nearby mental hospital was found with an urn.

inspirationalMental Healthhumorhow toheartbreakBlackoutart
Like

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.