Poets logo

I study his eyes

What do you see?

By Pauline FountainPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
39
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

There is an enduring tenderness in the love of a mother to a son, that transcends all other affections of the heart.

‘The Widow and her Son.’ A short story. Washington Irving (1819.)

I treasure the time spent with my son.

I look at his radiant face.

I study his eyes.

What do you see?

I see compassion.

I see wisdom beyond his years.

I see actualisation and achievement.

I see ‘making real.’

I have never wanted to possess my son.

Yet in this moment, he is mine.

I hold his body close.

I embrace him.

I whisper, ‘Beautiful I don’t want to let go.’

Pauline Fountain. © 2024. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

love poems
39

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake18 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story.

  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    Love that this made Top Story!!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • samrin mohammadi26 days ago

    Amazing!

  • Romano Meyer26 days ago

    beautiful

  • ROCK 27 days ago

    Hi there, newly subscribed. This was an " eye-opening poem" and a well deserved Top story!

  • Cyrus27 days ago

    Congrats!

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Christy Munson28 days ago

    Congratulations on Too Story! This piece reminds me of the relationship I have with my nieces and nephews. Beautifully written!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 for top story . Embrace your unique voice, for it holds the power to connect, resonate, and inspire others in ways only you can. Keep penning your truth, and watch as your words illuminate the path for others to follow."

  • Does letting go mean losing? Or can one release without the grief

  • Margaret Brennan28 days ago

    beautiful. congratulations on TS. My sons are now 57 and 56 and each time I look at them, I fall in love all over again. They've made me so proud, as toddlers, young men, husbands, and fathers. Thank you for reminding me to look at their eyes more often.

  • Gena Adamson28 days ago

    Short and sweet! I love my son 🥰

  • Sajan ali28 days ago

    Great dear

  • Grz Colm29 days ago

    Lovely little piece Pauline! hope you are travelling well. Best! 😊

  • Manisha Dhalani30 days ago

    Very nice

  • Your son has beautiful eyes! Loved your wonderful poem! Hope you're doing well

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    AH yes. Sons are wonderful...hold them close as long as you can. They grow up so fast and fly solo. Cherish that hug.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    This is so beautiful, Pauline. I can very much relate to this.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Eloquently expressed!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a month ago

    So poignant and beautiful! There is nothing like a mother's love 💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.