Poets logo

I stand vigil at an empty grave

and it might be my own

By HufflecupPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
not my art

I stand vigil at an empty grave

waiting for someone I could not save

youthful blood is still bright red

ghosts laugh because they forget they are dead

bones break

my heart aches

I see a world that never was

maybe I need soft dirt to rest my head

the world moves on

being forgotten might bring peace

I am a guardian with no purpose

the sun never sets on devotion

I welcome the decay

it represents the coming of a reunion

will someone find me waiting by your grave

and take up the vigil until the end of days

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Being forgetten might bring peace. That line was so deep! Loved your poem!

HufflecupWritten by Hufflecup

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.