Poets logo

I Should Be Free

But Spring Came

By Cynthia FieldsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
I Should Be Free
Photo by Vladimir Yelizarov on Unsplash

I felt as if I should be free

Nothing to do but lay in the grass

And wonder if the sun would kiss

My face and say hello.

But youth had passed taking my freedom with it.

The grass would have to wait and

The sun would find another lover.

Summer came in spite of me

Sending spring before it

Just to tease and remind

Me of what I could not have.

I should have been free to run to jump to make believe

But spring had come and gone

And summer took its place.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Cynthia Fields

I adore words and I love what happens when we grab them, sleep with them, holler and scream and laugh at them! I love what happens when we throw them in the air and watch them fall magically from our minds onto paper!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    Very good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.