Poets logo

I Remember

And i really wish i didn't

By Victoria OlivoPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I remember the first time i broke a bone

I remember it was the day before mother's day

I remember missing our flight because i was at the hospital.

I remember the last time i saw my cousin

I remember i told him i was a hacker

I don't know why but he looks up to them, i wanted him to look up to me.

I remember when my neighbor tried to drown me

I've always wished i would forget that, but i guess my mind doesn't want to.

I remember the last time i tried to kill myself

I remember telling my best friend

I remember her crying in the bathroom stalls.

I thought i had forgotten the last time i saw my sister smile

but

I remember that it was new years and she wanted my dad to smile

so i guess i don't actually remember her smiling for real.

I remember leaving Venezuela

I remember leaving my key hidden in the bushes for when I go back

I don't remember the last time I went back.

I remember smoking in the bathroom of my art camp

I remember crying, knowing I will never return to that art camp

I remember all my friends going back.

I remember my first panic attack

I remember using my inhaler

I remember it not working.

I wish i didn't remember the last time i had a panic attack;

i wish i never suffered from panic attacks.

I remember the first one

I remember how good it felt thinking it was going to be my last

I remember it not.

I remember getting my first credit card

I remember how big i felt when my dad told me he trusted me

I remember breaking his trust.

I remember eating pop tarts next to a bonfire

I remember swimming in a 12° lake.

I remember getting my braces

I remember breaking them just so i could see the cute receptionist every week

I remember my dad telling me we couldn't afford to do that

I remember getting them removed.

I remember failing my first driver's test

I remember going to my best friends house and crying because it was the first test I ever failed

I remember acing the second one.

I remember my first kiss

My first heartbreak

and i hope i will remember my first love.

I can't remember people's faces

but i know i can't forget their voice

I remember the day I forgot my own voice.

i remember getting it back.

i remember feeling that Victoria wasn't my name

neither was vicky, vic nor vico

those names don't have faces

they don't even have a voice.

i remember finding my name

oh, wait,

i don't.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.