Poets logo

I Quit

A Fight for Air

By Svilleg6Published 22 days ago 1 min read
1
I Quit
Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

The pack whispers promises, a siren's sweet song,

Each stick a salvation, though the truth lingers long.

A morning ritual, a cough that tears my chest,

Hacking up phlegm, a grim reminder, a shadowed bequest.

My breath, a stale ashtray, a bitter incense I hold,

Friends flinch at the odor, a story my coughs unfold.

Stained fingers and yellowed teeth, a grotesque display,

A billboard of warnings I ignore day by day.

The lighter's click, a spark of defiance, a fleeting reprieve,

A momentary comfort, a promise I can't believe.

The smoke curls and dances, a skeletal ballet,

A phantom limb craving, a hunger I can't allay.

The high fades too quickly, replaced by a gnawing need,

A constant companion, a parasitic weed.

Pockets perpetually thin, a slave to the store's bright glow,

Where shelves hold my torment, a cruel, tempting show.

I dream of clean lungs, of air that doesn't sting,

Of a body untainted, of a freedom to sing.

But the grip tightens further, a relentless embrace,

A tyrant I fear, etched upon my pale face.

They say it's a choice, a weakness I can defy,

But the voice in the pack whispers, a haunting lullaby.

Will I ever be stronger? Can I break these chains?

Or will I be tethered, a prisoner in nicotine's rains?

Friendshipslam poetryMental Health
1

About the Creator

Svilleg6

I wear many hats: entrepreneur, 5-star hospitality pro, and a passionate cook who loves whipping up delicious meals. Here, I share stories, tips, and inspiration for those on a similar journey. Join me for more creations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth22 days ago

    I hear it’s one of the hardest things in the world to quit doing; you really encompass that here. Great work!

  • You crafted it well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.