Poets logo

I Prefer The Noise

Voices

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
I Prefer The Noise
Photo by Jayden Yoon ZK on Unsplash

it was quiet today in my head

the voices had nothing to say

all the feelings of self-doubt and dread

seemed to vanish and faded away

left me thinking about things I'd forgotten

the ones all the noise had drowned out

pretty soon everything that I thought

came flooding through like an unclogged down spout

things I'd said or had been said to me

bringing smiles and an ocean of tears

the ones I let go of and casually set free

bridges still burning after all of these years

and I thought, this is not what I thought it would be

I expected so much more from my life

I decided that the problem had to be me

and began carving at me with a knife

cutting away what seemed so obvious now

those things pushing the others away

things I had completely disavowed

leading my emotions astray

until all that remained was this smile

the one that reassures you - I'm fine

the one that bewitches and beguiles

the one I have used all this time

In the silence, I soon missed the voices

chaotically keeping the quiet at bay

keeping me from feeling all my choices

originating this internal melee

surreal poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Hmmm, this was so deep. Hope you're okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Wonderful poem...your poems always reach the soul

  • Silence can be maddening, even more so than the voices & all the din preceding it.

  • Moe Radosevich4 months ago

    We write in direct opposites today, how alluring to read this great piece after submission today, we’re in tune my friend, great job 😊

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    Great introspection of self.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.