Poets logo

I Must Write

use your voice

By Serrena GraggPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
(Image from Freeimages.com

Lately, I haven’t written a single line

Not one single word to spill into a poem.

Did I get a mental block?

Or was I simply waiting

For the stars to align?

Who’s really to know.

Although I guess at the moment,

I’ve found my voice,

My words.

As I sit and I stare at this blank computer screen,

Over time I feel heavy with the voice I’ve choked behind.

My tongue feeling restless in between the spaces of my teeth.

I feel something stirring around inside of me.

I think it might break out

As I grow tired of holding back the voice.

I grow tired of holding back the feelings,

I must write

I must write to expose,

I must write to express,

I must write to explore all the dark places in my mind.

I can’t keep standing on the side

As I watch the way the world is turning,

I am learning.

I am suffering in this version, I can’t breathe.

I can’t see the world that is bright and full of life,

As I watch over and over as another human dies.

I guess I have found my words once again, as though they never left.

My tongue now dancing around in my mouth

As the words spill out on the page.

I must write for a change.

I must write for a change.

I must write for a change.

I write to expose

I write to express

I write to explore

I write to impress

I write to involve you

I write to reach you

I write to be heard

I write to be read

I write to be loved

I write to be kind

I write to stand up for the rest of my life.

I write about the dream of change. I write for change.

I write for change.

We are all, to be changed.

sg

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Serrena Gragg

Welcome to my poetry page. This is where I will leave pieces of me for those who care to read my thoughts.

More from me at

https://linktr.ee/Serrenathedead

xoxo,

S.g

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.