Poets logo

I miss you

An Epistolary

By Jacinth RysePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Dearest Alkara,

Your absence wrings my soul.

And now I must forsake

My home for now to hold

Inopportune parole.

Perhaps I may console

Us both and soothe the ache.

Myself I shall take pains

To find you in the trees

Your em'rald eyes aflame.

Your stories and disdains

Your laughter and refrains

They set my heart at ease.

I cannot but query

If you are quite aware

Of the warmth and the joy

You bring this once weary

Home, happy in theory,

Once buried in despair.

The moment you alight

New life bursts in my chest

As though I am revived

And saved from deepest night.

I think I have no right

To find myself thus blessed.

I must accept my plight

But not without protest.

I fear, to my dislike,

We'll cross paths out of sight,

When all could be set right,

By putting off this quest.

But no, I shall endure,

And serve my duty well,

And pray I be assured,

Your presence and allure

Are in my home secure.

Yours, now and forever,

-Tharan

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jacinth Ryse

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.