Poets logo

I Met a Man

an chance encounter?

By Emily E MahonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I met a man at the post office today who said I had a lucky face.

I thanked him nicely and began to walk away.

He called out that my star was not shining, so I stopped and asked him

what he meant.

He said I had a happy face but not always a happy heart.

He said I had great things coming but I thought too much.

He said I was always in a hurry and to slow down.

That my focus was straight but my thoughts made me move to the right and the left

When he took my palm he said in late July and early August my three

lines would have great fortune, my love, my life and my head.

He said he could tell me how these would come about.

I told him I didn't want to know, that it would spoil the surprise.

He said everything was aligned in my chakras but my body was not strong.

He said I had lost a love and two men now thought of me.

He could tell me more for twenty dollars.

I said I had to get to work and I didn't have any cash on me.

He'd walk to the ATM with me if I were willing to give him 5 minutes of

my time and on the way he'd tell me more.

So I shrugged my shoulders and started walking to the bank on the corner.

He told me that my heart was open and this was bad;

That I told people my plans too soon and I should keep things to myself.

My open heart will get me in trouble.

My open heart is the reason there's a woman in my family who is jealous

of me.

He could tell me more and change my life.

The ATM was out of service.

He said he'd walk across the street to the gas station where there was a

sign.

I said I'm sorry but I have to get back, thank you for your time.

He said it is your decision; you will ruin your life.

I shook his hand and walked away and I tried to walk a little slower.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Emily E Mahon

My training is in vocal performance and I love the fact that I'm sharing my writing practice on a platform called "vocal." It's just too perfect. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.