Poets logo

I'm Trying Something

A Poem about Growth

By Frau GernPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I told my stylist

I want a change.

He sliced away

a foot and a half of hair.

He cut the strands

of Clairol Light Ash Brown,

the last bit from a box

I bought last spring.

The dyed orange tones died;

they didn’t resonate.

It was the end of a bald-faced lie

on confession day.

The last of my locks

cluttered the floor;

silver notes sang

on my head in a higher key.

My husband sank low

when he saw the newer me.

You 2020’d your hair, he said.

I couldn't disagree.

My tinseled scalp still holds

a few sombre strands,

standing in dark protest

on a head full of hope.

He sees me out of lockstep,

and scrambles to keep up.

He forgot how

hair is always growing.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Frau Gern

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Frau GernWritten by Frau Gern

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.