Poets logo

I'm tired Mum

Lockdown

By Teresa TurnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m tired Mum, I hear a voice shout

I’m tired Mum, I’m blocking him out

I’m tired Mum, he shouts it again

I’m tired Mum, I’m going insane

I’m tired Mum, the voice it whines on

I’m tired Mum, sing me a song

I’m tired Mum, when will this day end?

I’m tired Mum, slowly going round the bend

I’m tired Mum, why are you crying?

I’m tired Mum, I can see you aren’t trying

I’m tired Mum, what shall I do?

I’m tired Mum, are you tired too?

I’m tired son, I’m tired of life

I’m tired son, tired of the strife

I’m tired son, the days just drag on

I’m tired son, tired of the song

I’m tired son, tired looking at the clock

I’m tired son, keeping the door locked

I’m tired son, no one else can I see

I’m tired son, no one there to help me

I’m tired son, at the long days end

I’m tired son, can’t you comprehend?

The days travel on, my heart feels broke

No normal no more, this life is a joke

Pandemic they scream, and I just scream back

Locked up in this dream my life is now black

No light up ahead, I might as well end it all

But there in the hallway I hear the soft call

I’m tired Mum, can I have a hug?

I’m tired Mum, tired of this bug

I’m tired Mum, but at least I have you

I’m tired Mum, and you have me too……..

By T. Turner 21/02/21

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.