Poets logo

I’m Thankful & My Mother Mary

You were always there for me even before I had eyes to see.

By David Duran Published 3 years ago 2 min read
5

I'm thankful for when you wipe my tears away.

I'm thankful for the hours of work & play.

I'm thankful for the food you serve.

I'm thankful for the things I don't deserve.

I'm thankful for your kindness & caring.

I'm thankful for your love & sharing.

I'm thankful for everything you do.

Because I love you!

Quiet & calm, graceful like a swan, my mother Mary paints a blood red dawn! Honest to dare she directs spawn. A beautiful & fragrant, thorny rose. In the storms of life, she expresses pure repose. Hearing voices & holding secrets no one ever knows. Patient & forgiving an angel of pure light. Guarded & protected she takes her rest at night. In her sleep her spirit prowls exacting what is right! Every bad word is sent back to the sender, never forgotten, never remembered. Nothing can disturb her special sacred splendor.

Most at peace when left alone frozen in a world of ancient tomes, Queen in a world she's free to roam. Raised in the shadow of her unrelenting love. I became her precious little turtle dove. Amid the darkest places we were from above. I know that she loves me though I often wonder why. Her love cannot be shaken, no matter how hard I try. Knowing all her sacrifices makes me want to cry. All my memories of Mom are honest, pure & true, yet all that seems important dissolves when she's in view. As a child I often heard it said. "Mary spoken in the mirror three times in darkness leaves you dead." I was fearless & instead dared to go where few have tread.

Once a ray of light, then her baby boy. How could I have known I'd grow to be her toy. From heart aches & sorrows I would learn to find my joy! You might think it's wrong, my always feeling numb. Not knowing if a scene is over or if it's just begun. Holding fast onto my dreams until my prize is won! Married & yet a widow in her heart. Trying to finish Mary means going back to start. A lady of light & darkness she tears the world apart! Will she ever have enough treasures in her trove? As desires multiply who can ever know? What she truly wants does she really show? Child of Mary's womb. Patiently I await the arrival of my savior coming soon. Everyday knowing Mary builds our tomb...

love poems
5

About the Creator

David Duran

Every life form has a program. Soul life is just a spirit exam. These words are true because I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.