Poets logo

I’m sorry I’m so sorry

Dear secret in the cracks

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
I’m sorry I’m so sorry
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

I was a child

Looking at you like this was everything

Like you were

Everything.

I was a child who didn’t care about pain because life seemed like an endless dream

I’m

Sorry

I was a child who looked at every crack and instead of ignoring it, I had to noisily point them out

While everyone wanted me to smile and pretend they weren’t there

I’m sorry

I was a child that wanted to grow up but also stay your young daughter forever, safe,

No cracks,

I’m

Sorry.

I was a child and I grew into the cracks

While everyone else was filling it up, encasing me,

Showing off how our whole family was okay without me. I’m sorry

I was a child

I’m

Sorry I was a child

I’m

Sorry I am so sorry.

heartbreak
13

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.