Poets logo

I'm Not Sorry

Give Me Spun Sugar

By Andrea Corwin Published 3 months ago 1 min read
I'm Not Sorry
Photo by Elena Leya on Unsplash

~~I’m not sorry

my words are carefully chosen before spoken

~~ I’m not sorry for shouted words and wide gesticulations

must I, to be heard?

~~I’m not sorry for speaking the truth, even if in

Shouts

cotton balls, I want cotton balls, not

buttons you so easily push, still

my cotton balls would blot, block, and absorb

phrases spoken in critical or defensive words,

from the offensive position

~~Just a gentle poke in a puffball, please

not

the button-pushing finger

~~irritation will dissolve through a

soft tone of spun sugar, like

cotton candy,

not hard sour balls

By Laura Ockel on Unsplash

social commentaryFree Verse

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin

https://atmospherepress.com/interview-with-andrea-corwin/

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Katie Erdman3 months ago

    Wow! I love how powerful this poem is. What a beautiful way of expressing this.

  • The Dani Writer3 months ago

    An interesting and unusual array of sensory experiences set to poetic form. Work it!

  • Kodah3 months ago

    I loovee the way you structured this!! Incredibly done! Love your poem! 💌❣

  • Murali3 months ago

    I can also relate to this poem sometimes. I hope you're okay☺️.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Wow! This an intense and well-wrought poem, Andrea! I felt it in my bones!

  • "~~Just a gentle poke in a puffball, please not the button-pushing finger ~~irritation will dissolve through a soft tone of spun sugar, like cotton candy, not hard sour balls" These were my favourite lines. Hope you're doing okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I like the thought of cotton balls as a buffer!

  • Esala Gunathilake3 months ago

    Loved your poem!

  • Well said… as always! ‘I’m not sorry my words are carefully chosen before spoken ~~ I’m not sorry for shouted words and wide gesticulations must I, to be heard?’ Cotton ball soft words… so much better than hard, harsh ones. I loathe conflict, but sadly, it happens 🥺. Hopefully the air has cleared!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Loved this! The last line was especially cool! ⚽️⚽️

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Wow, this is so good! Such a well woven contrast of sweet and seething. I loved the lines/role you crafted with the cotton balls!

  • Michelle Liew3 months ago

    And yes, we all need a lesson in anger management. Well-said Andrea, need this today.

  • angela hepworth3 months ago

    Such a great and unique way to shape a thoughtful metaphor! Loved this!

Andrea Corwin Written by Andrea Corwin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.