Poets logo

I'm Not A Broken Soul

Saved by His Grace

By Michelle Renee KidwellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Tony Eight Media on Unsplash

I shouldn’t have

To Apologize

For mistakes every

Christian has made

Nor should

I have to justify

The fact

I wake up

Every Sunday

To attend Church

My Faith has carried

Me through

The darkness

It has taught

Me to soar.

I shouldn’t have

To bare the

Verbal darts

Others throw

Calling me names

Simply because

I believe

I’ve seen his

Hand at work

I’ve stood before

A miracle and praised

God,

And I’ve felt the

Pain of loss

But he was always

There.

I am not

About spinning

A narrative

That is not me

I’m not

The picture perfect

Christian

By any means

But I’m not

The sum of

The mistakes

Christians have ever made.

I’ve Struggled

I’ve Fallen

I’ve Had life

Take me

To its knees

While others

Throw

There darts

At me

Hypocrite

Prejudice

Fool

Ignorant

Because you

Believe

But that’s not

Me

So take

Those labels

And slap

Them

On yourself

I’m not a broken

Individual

I’m saved by his

Grace.

Copyright ©️ Michelle R Kidwell

December.05.2022

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Renee Kidwell

Abled does not mean enabled. Disabled does not mean less abled.” ― Khang Kijarro Nguyen

Fighting to end ableism, one, poem, story, article at a time. Will you join me?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.