Poets logo

I’m Okay

Listening to the Unspoken Words

By Michelle Renee KidwellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
https://unsplash.com/photos/eTl9T5pw1OM?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditShareLink

I’m okay

You spoke the

Words

But I heard

The words

You did not

Say

Afraid that

The mask

Would come

Off to reveal

The pain.

Thanks to Christian Holzinger @pixelatelier for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁

No you’re not

I’d say

Gentle words

But a painful truth

You were always

The one so strong

The friend

I needed to lean

On

When the winds

Were strong

But you needed me

I heard it

In the way

Your voice caught

Quiet cues

That screamed to

Me.

Thanks to Kyle Broad @kylebroad for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁

I need to

Be strong

She said

But I feel

Like I’m being

Blown off course

Life is carrying

Me away like

A hurricane

Rips the roots

Off of a tree,

A force so

Strong it

Takes out your

Very being!

https://unsplash.com/photos/am053oKLDcA?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditShareLink

Your strong I said

Sturdy

As can be

The winds may come

They can destroy

Your body

But never your spirit

Your soul

Is yours to

Keep.

By Ben White on Unsplash

I’m okay

She said

Maybe not

At this

Moment

But I know

I will be

I smiled

And said gently

I know you

Will be too.

(C) Michelle R Kidwell

March.12.2022

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Renee Kidwell

Abled does not mean enabled. Disabled does not mean less abled.” ― Khang Kijarro Nguyen

Fighting to end ableism, one, poem, story, article at a time. Will you join me?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.