Poets logo

I’m Done

Here’s to dying inside | 2022

By VTPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I’m done with all the fear

All the trying

All the revision all the rewriting…

I was told to care, but taught to neglect

I was told to have peace, but taught to resent

I was told to have boundaries, but taught to give it all

I was told I was loved, but taught I was a burden to all

So I’m done

Done caring, done being peaceful, done being loved

Because you told me I could trust but you keep letting me fall

You told me I could trust you but you just let me fall

And where are you now that I’m lying on the floor ?

Where are you now, since you told me you’d be here and all

Where are you now that you’ve thoroughly screwed me over?

Where are you now as I finally give up mending my heart

I thought I could find a way to be complete, but I’m letting go of the thought

Letting go of what I was told, what I was taught, what I feared, and what I lost

Because I can’t live if I can’t trust a single person who’s met my eye

And I’ll forever be lost drowning in this endless stream of time

Thanks for the lesson

Here’s to dying inside

sad poetry

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VTWritten by VT

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.