Poets logo

I Love You

#VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I love you more than there are words to explain it.

I love you more than songs can say.

I love you more than my own life.

I love you more than anything and everything in this whole world.

I love you so much I want to scream.

I want to scream right now.

But I can't.

Maybe one day I'll have the time to climb a mountain on my own.

I'll climb it, right to the very top, and I'll scream.

Just me and the world.

And I'll scream.

For now I'll just let it take post in my heart.

It's gotten pretty comfortable in there—

that love.

Yes, yes it has.

It feels like home.

And I want it to stay.

If it leaves, It'll just take my heart with it.

And in that moment, in that moment my love is forced to leave, and take my heart it's captive, I'll somehow be left in its wake.

Some small shell of the former me.

But let's not think about that—

that shell.

Let's think about you instead.

Time is going so slow.

Life is hard to focus on.

I'm having a hard time motivating myself to do anything but, well, nothing.

The only thing I'm motivated to do is to do nothing.

Nothing but wait.

I'm here.

I did it.

And it was the easiest thing I've ever done in my whole life.

It was just like breathing really.

And walking and talking and looking.

That's all I did.

And now it's done.

Oh, I love you.

I can't say it enough.

I love you.

I do.

I know that whole you-complete-me deal is pretty lame,

but I feel it.

I feel as though you have what I don't.

And I have what you don't.

And together we make a pretty good one.

A pretty good whole.

If I could sum it all up,

all of these words that fall too short,

I would simply say...

I love you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.