Poets logo

You're My Whole

#VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don't think I'm scared anymore.

Except, I guess, at this point I'm really just nothing.

Sometimes I look at your picture and my heart sinks into my stomach.

But mostly I'm just living life one day at a time,

waiting and waiting,

like I do.

People are excited for me.

Their excitement makes me nervous.

What if I don't meet their expectations, what if I fail at this?

That doesn't really matter at all,

what matters is that whatever happens I end happy.

Hey, but remember you?

You are my most favorite person ever.

My most favorite reason to smile and laugh and sing and live and pray.

You are so great and I just cant wait to be in on that greatness again,

even if it scares me.

And remember that I know you?

I know your favorite color, or lack thereof.

I know how to make you laugh.

I know the only two things that make you cry.

And I know you love omelettes

and that you're easy

and I know the twitch in your leg when you fall asleep.

See, you're not scary at all.

You're really just an extension of me.

You're really just an enormous chunk of my simple heart.

You're really just that feeling of being alone in a crowded room,

that feeling of being home in a foreign place.

I shouldn't be scared.

I shouldn't be scared at all.

Because you're just that piece of me I've been missing.

You're just that part that makes me whole.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.