Poets logo

I Know My Baby's Cute, but I'm Here Too...

Poem from a Mom in the Background

By Joyful SammyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Know My Baby's Cute, but I'm Here Too...
Photo by Artur Nasyrov on Unsplash

I know my baby's cute,

but I'm here too.

I know he has a smile that will melt anyone's heart.

His laugh will make any sad face disappear.

Even the softness of his hair can slow down the very fragment of time.

Yes, my kid is that special.

But. I'm. Here. Too...

In the midst of a conversation don't lose me.

I might be on the verge of vulnerability.

I might finally be ready to talk bout my post...my post...my postpartum depress-

PPD affects 10 to 15 percent of all women.

That's a lot.

It can be mild or extremely severe.

And can also take some women an entire year, to feel somewhat normal again.

Hey...did I lose you. I'M RIGHT HERE!

I know he coo'd. I know his smile shines bright.

Trust me I see it everyday and each time I'm overcome with joy.

But those same traits shove me into a closet where I'm no longer seen.

Hidden away as a lost thought of a conversation that once was.

I'm an introvert so please not all at once.

But maybe a gaze, such as a light house.

Every once in a while you look my way.

Every once in a while I'm all you see.

Every once in a while you notice me.

Because trust me, I know my baby is cute, but I'm here too.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.