Poets logo

I just have one question for you

True Colors Challenger

By Duncan CatellierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
miss you but i know myself better because of it

I just have one question for you

A blue flame feels so much hotter

next to you, I hold my hand

above the candle as long as

I can stand it, sitting next to

you is like wading in

the moon’s atmosphere

& the sun is this fire in-

between us.

The wick spits floral colors,

hues that bloom in opposite

seasons: spring blue

marigolds, dying

orange maple.

I don’t know why you won’t talk

to me anymore. I wish you would

show me those photos on your

phone the ones you like, they

shine brighter than this candle.

Do you remember dancing

in those neon lights what feels

like years ago, you said I looked

exactly like you imagined

I would, You said,

You burn like fire, which

doesn’t make sense

you’re a Scorpio. Tell me

you remember that

same night you found my

birthmark behind your sofa

& brought it over into

Our Bed

with the lights

already off.

You are so handsome

in the light. I remember the day

you brought me flowers,

You said,

How handsome you are

& You didn’t compare me

to anything.

I want you to compare me.

Compare me now to this honey-

wicked flame I need to know

if I am lesser than

the blue or the heat above.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Duncan Catellier

Queer artist and writer. Sharing my visions and passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.