Poets logo

I Hope You're Doing Well In 30 Years.

For 30 from now.

By RabbitPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
I Hope You're Doing Well In 30 Years.
Photo by Nina Hill on Unsplash

Maybe it's 30 years from now.

We'll be old, yes truly old.

Working in the sun has aged your face.

You have deep smile wrinkles.

My tattoos have faded lightly.

My hair is streaked with silver.

Maybe we pass by each other in a store.

Or on the street.

You sit across from me in a restaurant.

There we are.

Our heads move up, our eyes meet.

That's when we realize it's each other, it only took a moment.

A million things run through our heads.

What would go through your mind?

Would it be bitterness and anger?

I don't think so.

I would think about the good times.

Us crossing that giant bridge together.

Me listening to times you've spent in bands.

I would wonder if you're still playing music.

If your hands still work well enough to do so.

I'd like to think you would wonder about my paintings.

If I became a dream makeup artist.

And if I got to be a mother.

A soft smile comes to my face.

We look away from each other back to our meals.

I would say hi if given the chance.

You would tell me hey you.

If you let me, I'd hug you gently.

Placing a kiss on your cheek.

Saying "It's good to see you, hope you're doing well."

After all this time has passed, I'd look at you fondly.

There is no pain from the past.

We reminisce for a moment that feels like a lifetime.

Eventually I'd shuffle on my way.

In the car driving off, my partner would want the story.

Way before these wrinkles and gray hair.

You see my dear, 30 years ago when I was 31, I knew him.

We were younger, it was short but we were so much in love.

heartbreaklove poems

About the Creator

Rabbit

I see the world a little differently than most. Even at a young age I was writing down what I saw but never sharing it with a soul until now. I'm choosing love over fear.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RabbitWritten by Rabbit

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.