Poets logo

I hold each book

Inscribed with love

By Pauline FountainPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
7
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

Reading can be a road to freedom or a key to a secret garden, which, if tended, will transform all of life.

Katherine Paterson

I’m trying to breathe.

*

Why not just throw them out?

I hold each book shared, inscribed with love and longing.

I try to breathe as I make decisions on each.

They are our memories.

Memories of brief.

A decision on the precious as I sort.

Space limits and I am haunted by these memories of love and longing.

Milestones and a childhood stolen from me.

These books represent the exception.

I would hold him and read.

Why not just throw them out?

I hold each book shared, inscribed with love and longing.

I try to breathe as I make decisions on each.

They are our memories.

Memories of brief.

I thought I was free.

My very young son was wise and compassionate.

In line with the time spent with each parent, as laid down in the Agreement; mine was half time.

Ross’ words, many times repeated with minor iterations.

The words of one so young to help me process loss. He became my carer when I was severely psychiatrically unwell.

He reassured me at 4 years of age, “It’s okay Pauline, it’s just your ‘pression.”

He consoled me at 5 years of age, “It’s ok Pauline. Otherwise I wouldn’t have known my Nan so well.”

His words.

Many times repeated with minor iterations. The words of one so young to help me process loss.

I’m sorry Ross.

It became so much more than I could have imagined.

Then I lost you again.

A manifestation of Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling) and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

Terror.

I did not ask for this.

Terror in the reliving.

I sort his children’s books.

Yearning.

Hatred of circumstance.

I crave for it’s passing.

Let it pass today.

Why not just throw them out?

I hold each book shared, inscribed with love and longing.

I try to breathe as I make decisions on each.

They are our memories.

Memories of brief.

*

Now I breathe.

Farewell beloved remembrances.

Discarded?

No.

Let them bring joy to others.

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

‘Discarded?

No.

Let them bring joy to others.’

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
7

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliant!!!💕❤️❤️

  • He was such such a wise child at such a young age. Loved your emotional poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    NICE!

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    That's beautiful.. I like that, pass on the joy to others 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.