Poets logo

Just for the sake of it

Coded for me

By Pauline FountainPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
9
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

An account.

A brief written reflection of events.

Unrelated.

A clipped text narrative.

A hidden meaning.

Coded for me.

Written so I can reflect in a year from now about a moment in time when I lost my voice.

Boundaries broken.

Assertiveness absent.

To begin with a strong belief in myself.

My worth as a person.

Full of assurance.

Confident that I could fulfil my goals.

Set.

Positive.

Self-assured.

It’s just not me to be confidently aggressive.

Perhaps that’s what I needed to be?

Dogmatic preferable?

I just don’t know.

As the day ended and became night.

I felt.

The right word?

I struggle with it.

Adrift.

Yes.

[ Image : Pauline Fountain. ]

A distress alert text.

He knows my codes.

He stopped to call me from the Kangaroo Point Cliffs.

[ Image : Brisbane City Council Library ]

Shan arrived at my home with a plan.

“We’re off to Brett’s Wharf.

Get styled up, ready for a night of delight.

It’s ‘light up’ time!”

*

[ The reality of his friendship brings me joy. See below. ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

If you would like to read my writing about Shannan. In date order of publication.

I hope you enjoy!

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

performance poetrysad poetryheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Your poem was so deep and emotional. Those pictures were so beautiful!

  • This is an emotive journey with you, love the form and the pictures

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    I love minimalism in all its forms. When done well, it hammers a message home in a great way. Your poem is a great example of that!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Enjoy the read, that must be some date, enjoy your light pictures

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    👏☺️Great & emotive work and wonderful pictures of those trees!

  • ❤️📝

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    Humans were never designed to be solitary creatures. But it's the good company that makes us better ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.