Poets logo

I Grew Up

A coming of age poem by ED 4/26/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Grew Up
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

It was the violent video games

And all the hours I whiled away

Chatting with strange men online

Now isn’t that the perfect line?

I grew up and I’m sorry mom

I didn’t mean to make you cry

I simply grew on up and I’m on the cusp

Of greatness just wait this isn’t over

I fell in love in the middle of

A time when things were ‘sposed to die

Old friendships gone and every song

I used to sing go silent

I grew up and I’m sorry but

Dad I can’t do this anymore

I’m moving out and the strangest sound

Of bitterness has washed from the shore

He holds me tightly and we do alright he

Works real throughout the day

So what money’s tight if he loves me right

I think it’ll be okay for me to stay

I grew up and I’m sorry love

That they didn’t treat you like their son

But we’ve got our faith no one can negate

We can make this work, the victory’s won.

art
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.