Poets logo

I grew up on Mr. Right

Poem: About growing up to Romantic comedies and it not turning out how you though.

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
2

I know society has twisted my sense of love,

Growing up to romantic comedies,

Creating a criteria list of what is considered enough,

Dreaming of a man who would take care of me when I am sick,

Just like Jimmy Fallon did for Drew Barrymore in Fever Pitch,

Or to think I would be worth chasing after,

Just like the airport movie scene in Sleepless in Seattle,

I dreamed I would be following my path and the unexpected dream guy would walk in,

Just like Patrick Dempsy did in Lucky Seven,

Then you add a soundtrack to your soul,

Listen to singers sing about a woman they have to know,

Someone they can't imagine ever letting go,

We are raised to be treasured as little girls, to be given away at the altar,

A first dance with your partner and the last with your father,

You dream of feeling an immeasurable love on your wedding day,

A promise and partner, someone committed and choosing to stay,

I fell into this trap,

I make a living from it on top of all of that,

I love, love,

And I know it exists,

It just hasn't turned out the way I thought of it,

I've been chasing a dream,

Of a man filled with kindness, motivation and possibility,

Someone who is willing to throw a hat into spontaneity,

With the wired potential of a crazy enticing love story,

I have said end of season goodbyes,

To 4 different guys,

Showing me each time,

An adjustment to my type,

Till I find the one that feels right,

I have absorbed the emotions within the songs,

distorted my outlook every time it felt wrong,

From what I believe I knew,

A love that fit my criteria of truth,

The excitement and attraction to finding a person,

To be another half in my life's vision,

I can't say I want it any less knowing what I do now,

I just am finding myself lost on the how,

How to I let myself feel vulnerable again,

To let the scars of my past not sit on my skin,

How do I continue to believe,

That a special form of love will still find me,

I mean,

We are never short of new romantic comedies,

Or songs that fill our hearts with belief,

Even in real life I get to see,

A partner of love committing to the dream,

I understand there is more to the film closing,

And I understand the work that follows the unwritten scenes,

But I would like to make it past the point of climaxing,

To make it to the point of a partner invested in the solution,

To make it to my life and love, the movies stage of resolution,

I want to believe the movies I was raised on have grounds,

for the writing they stand on,

That the standards I have set for the story I dream to write,

Will lead me to someone who could be my Mr. Right.

celebritiessurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Enjoyed this poem. I was raised on the same movies. I recently wrote a fictional story on the same theme. Well done! ❤️ Looking forward to reading more of your work.

  • I love romantic comedies ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.