Poets logo

I Give

For The Vocal Inverse Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Pop Will Eat Itself Are The Anti Nasty League

Introduction

I found this definition of this sort of poem on the internet

What do you call a poem that can be read backwards?

Extending that idea then of forward and backward are palindrome poems. You might also know them as reverse poems or mirror poems. These are poems that you can read for meaning in two ways–from top to bottom and then bottom to top.

I do find this concept difficult but the five lines that I have written were inspired by a song on "The Anti-Nasty League" by Pop Will Eat Itself, "Director's Cut" that includes the lines:

"I Wish You Heaven,

I Wish You Hell"

I thought it would be good to do it visually as well to show the change in attitude.

The Prompt

Write a poem that takes on a different meaning when you read the lines from bottom to top.

🔥🔥🔥

I Give You Hell

That Is Why

You Hurt Me

Even Though

I Give You Heaven

💖💖💖

slam poetrysurreal poetryStream of Consciousness
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox4 months ago

    Excellent! If I read a few more of yours I might be ready to attempt a reverse myself.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This was so beautifully done!

  • Yup, a Palindrome. I've done one. You've probably already read that as it was from 2 years ago. Yours was soooo fantastic!

  • Misty Rae4 months ago

    Beautiful in its simplicity, well done.

  • Beautifully done, Mike!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This is an excellent entry to the Challenge,Mike. Only you 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.