Poets logo

I Found the Key

Purpose

By Juliette GarciaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
I Found the Key
Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

What's so special about me,

if I'm as special as you?

Well for starters, I'm as busy as a bee.

Oh...You too?

I think I'm pretty grand

I've seen your favorite band

I have a lot of stuff

I can call out any bluff

I'm pleasing to the eye

but don't look because I'm shy

I may care for my looks

but I never read my books

So don't judge me by my cover

I might stick around and hover

Damnit, now you think I'm dumb

and I live like such a bum

Have yet to work from rags to rich

Got used to the label, so now I'm a bitch

I swear I haven't always been so apathetic

but my own depression became an epidemic

I always felt like a blackbird instead of a sheep

I thought my wings were broken, no way to make the leap

Can I make it if I have no backbone?

Does it matter if I stand out when I feel so alone?

Maybe I act big because I feel so small

I'm afraid of the yelling, so I avoid the call

Yeah, what I'm scared of is kinda backward

even turned into my own attacker

There must be something missing, I just need a lot of help

Can't someone hear me every single time that I yelp

How can you claim to be saved when you're more lost than me

I may not know where the lock is, but at least I have a key.

I know I shouldn't compare

our own wear and tear

but even my strife

saved my damn life

How can I start a revolution

if I don't know my own solution

This fear is not okay

It's time to seize the day

In this moment, it's clear to me

It's not my mission to just be

I gotta take the steps forward

escape from the horror

I'll put down the dope

I'll be a symbol of hope

I can't be so carefree

No more me me me

Because if we've all been lost and hurt

found some gems amongst the dirt...

we really are more connected than polar

only thing wrong is who became the controller

I listen to my heart to quiet the chatter

I think I get it now I am still unique

So special, it doesn't matter

If light and love is what we seek.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Juliette Garcia

New to Vocal as well as bravery! I am 18 with a purpose no longer driven by shame and fear. Everything I put out into the universe is aligned with my authentic and creative self. Always open to receiving your insight and advice on my art:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.