Poets logo

I forgive her.

a poem by mia janaé gray

By Mia Janaé GrayPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
to my mom.

A poem inspired by the Holy Spirit, on my 1 year anniversary of getting baptized on Mother's Day, a poem to my Mom, called "I forgive her."—

I forgive her.

I forgive her for the moments when

she wasn't there

When she was in the room

But her thoughts were elsewhere

I forgive her for the times I needed her

But she had already left

Pursuing a lifestyle

Apart from my Dad

I forgive her for the times

I needed a mother's insight

When I didn't know

What was wrong or

What was right

I forgive her for not being there

When I got my first bra or

When I got my first period

When I didn't understand

What was happening to my body

and I ended up fearing it

When I needed a mom

I could count on.

But who knows where she could be?

I forgive her for the instability.

I forgive her for her changing mood

Sometimes gentle sometimes rude

I forgive her so that I can see clearly

Apart from the pain and

The hurt she caused me

I forgive her so that God can be her judge

Lord knows, it only hurts me to hold this grudge.

I forgive because the Lord forgave me

Now, I understand that what afflicts me

Is something she's been battling

Generationally

I say I forgive but I don't think my heart receives it

I must walk out the forgiveness until my heart believes it

It's in this when I see her more clearly

Not for how she's hurt me,

But with more empathy

Her demons aren't unfamiliar

I've seen what they can do

They've sought to destroy my crops

And steal my marriage too

But I've been spared

From the same snares

By the grace of God I've been given

Women who have shared their wisdom

Forgiving my mother for everything that happened to me

Swing wide the doors of reconciling

To see my mother smiling,

What a blessing.

I see now that it is My Testimony

That the Lord is building,

To share with others The Power of Forgiving.

🖤>❤️>🤍

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemschildrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mia Janaé Gray

I pray my writings would illuminate the in-between spaces of life and bring peace in the transition of what Is, what Has Been, and what Is To Come. ☼

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.