Poets logo

I Feel Sick

An ode to my ex

By Sydney MoorePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
I Feel Sick
Photo by Brittany Colette on Unsplash

You're the dust in my lungs, I just can't seem to cough out fast enough.

The rest of my organs contract trying to mimic my heart in evicting you.

Your memory is like a rash on my skin

You've left me feeling deformed for having even known you

Droplets of you leave my pores

trying to reach an equilibrium of

1 half "breakups happen", 1 half "Fuck him. I'm a bad bitch"

I've tried crying you out but you cling to me like a parasite

Something to be excised

while risking a piece of myself in the process.

I'll grow back in excess

There will be no room for you.

This neglect of my health does no one any good.

So I'll wash my hands of you while singing happy birthday

4 times instead of the recommended 2

I'll eat my apple a day

and hope memories of you fade

like rashes in places I'd rather keep private.

My recovery won't be a miracle

But it will be astonishing.

inspirationalslam poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Sydney Moore

I'm an English major, so why not?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.