Poets logo

I Feel Nothing

Why?

By Xanthe MattheysPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Feeling lost and emotionless, many a teenager's curse.

Why do I not feel anything?

Not hope, not failure, not pain

Just a hollow emptiness

And the possibility I may be insane

Why do I not feel anything?

Not a plan, nor a path, nor a goal

It's frightening to know I want nothing

To imagine I may have no soul

Why do I not feel anything?

No hate, no love, not a care

Why is my life but a shadow

Of a being that is actually not there?

Why do I not feel anything?

Is it something I did long before?

If I could feel, would I feel hate or love

Tearing away at my core?

But I just feel nothing

I move through life without thought

Leaving destruction in my wake

Not feeling the shame that I ought

sad poetryMental Healthheartbreak

About the Creator

Xanthe Mattheys

I'm a middle-aged mom from Sunny South Africa. I am trying to find my way in this crazy world and find positivity and meaning in my everyday life. I've always enjoyed writing and hopefully can find a platform here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Xanthe MattheysWritten by Xanthe Mattheys

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.