Poets logo

I Feel Lighter

Now that the added weight has been taken off

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
I Feel Lighter
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

Anxiety strapped across my back. That’s its way of

Boldly taking a stance

Calling itself my best friend while

Dread seeps through my pores

Excessive describes the degree of my worrying

Feeling fatigued, stressed and afraid about the outcome of things that I can’t change

Going somewhere but still standing in the same place asking myself

How do I break free?

It isn’t normal, that’s not how a best friend should treat me

Joking around when I’m hurt and in need so I will ask nicely

Kindly get off my back and leave

Let me take control of my life, yet here you are attached to me like the melanin on my skin

Move! Didn’t you hear me speak?

Now is the time to go our separate ways

Oh no, you won’t be allowed to stay!

Please go and don’t make a scene

Quiet! I don’t want to hear it anymore

(you talk too much)

Rest assured you won’t be missed

Sure, it’ll take some time to adjust to the change

The absence of your weight already makes me feel great

Unhealthy was the relationship we built and I have learned techniques like

Varying the depths of my breathing.

What will I be without you? Is that what I heard you say? Wishing you well as I continue this journey alone. I’ll be on my way

Xanax is there if I need it to keep you away and to help me sleep

You thought I’d never leave you and look at me, now filled with a new found

Zestfulness for life which was once just a dream. Today it’s become a reality I can live in.

*

Thank you for reading

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.