Poets logo

I Emulate You

Reflective Poem

By Lovely LuciaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
I Emulate You
Photo by M. on Unsplash

I emulate you

I adore you

Or so I think I do

At four I was clay

I molded to be like you

.

Was it adoration?

Or was it out of fear?

Did I really love your company?

Or did I despise the cracks on my face?

I cannot remember

.

Now looking at the broken mirror

My four year old face

I still hear screams of them

My face a hole from cracks

Nerves numb from early years

Physical issues ensue

.

In my teen years

Dried skin

Sweatshirts in the summer

Concealer and prime a must

Their hands reached out

Yet I retracted mine

Fairy tale ensue in my head

Trips back to my room

First glance organized, pearly white, ideal

But the corners are a dusty, obsidian black

.

I looked at the dulled mirror again

My irises shrunken to a minimum

Hands and feet are constantly moving

Dehydration is a common feeling

My heart rate slowed and unstable

Gastro-acid barely kept at bay

.

I emulated you

From your unwanted temper

To your minor anxious symptoms

Your childhood

Your teen years

Soon your adult years and beyond

.

I am a perfect copy of a failure

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Lovely Lucia

An archive of my stories I publish every now and then.

To the people who read my poems and short stories; Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.