Poets logo

I Don't Want

...

By Brenton FPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

i don’t want to die today

it’s something i’d like to avoid

instead i CHOOSE to remain aloof

aloof; and to a degree, annoyed

i don’t want to sigh today

an envelope of exasperation

inside an inhalation

a SIMPLE end to this breaths expiration

i don’t want to lie today

i wish no falsehoods to cross my lips

instead i will HEED my own counsel

sidestepping potholes mishaps and slips

i don’t want to try today

i'm mildly amid a malodorous malaise

i've EMBRACED my inner quitter

and counted my apathetic ways

i don’t want to fly today

i think i will clip my wings

and GROUNDED i will flounder

and ponder the little things

i don’t want to say bye today

no desire for partings and such

out of sight, out of reach

but NEVER out of touch

i don’t want to cry today

no tears tracking dust in my sorrow

all of this is a purely transitional perspective

i might feel DIFFERENT tomorrow

sad poetry

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Very peppy and personal work. Excellent job!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This flowed perfectly, and has so many great lines. The envelope of exasperation part, embracing the inner quitter, clupping the wings, and of course the ending. Just a wonderful piece.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Ah yes. This. "i don’t want to sigh today an envelope of exasperation inside an inhalation a SIMPLE end to this breaths expiration" Oh how I feel that. Not sure I've related to a poem more, really. Great great one!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    I don't want to die today sigh today try today.... I love this. How do you hit on something so simple and not-simple and bend it into such beautiful shapes 😁

  • This was so intense, poignant and emotional! So well done!

  • Test6 months ago

    You wrote this nice and tight with some meter. I am impressed.

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.