Poets logo

I don't want a horse

Horse Haiku

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
40
I don't want a horse
Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

I don't want a horse;

But I like the noise it makes

When hooves hit hard ground.

Stream of ConsciousnessinspirationalhumorHaiku
40

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist πŸ“šπŸͺΆ3 months ago

    Such a cute poem… so much in so few words! I like the look & idea of horses but they have a history of trying & succeeding to bite me!πŸ™„πŸ˜΅β€πŸ’«

  • Kristen Balyeat3 months ago

    Haha! Love this, Rachel! I feel this way about high heels too. πŸ˜‚

  • Paris Rosemont3 months ago

    Beautiful. Such an evocative sound! 🐎

  • Sian N. Clutton3 months ago

    ASMR for the win! I love that sound too!

  • Ken Douglas4 months ago

    Your poetry is interesting. Buy I love this guy's poetry πŸ‘‡ https://www.facebook.com/100010296994439/posts/2183692751983937/?mibextid=rS40aB7S9Ucbxw6v I found it on Facebook and it was worth my time!.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    I kinda want a horse, but it probably wouldn't like living in an apartment. And Abigail would be pissed. Nah, no horse for me.

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    Yes.

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Understandable and with good reasoning

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer4 months ago

    Thank you for the inspiration 😁

  • perfect....

  • Bew4 months ago

    Engaging and expertly written, your story held my attention, leaving me eagerly anticipating what happens next. The way you skillfully blended emotions and suspense makes it a truly captivating experience. Please take a moment to read my work as well!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    😹😹😹πŸ₯₯πŸ₯₯πŸ₯₯πŸ₯₯ 🐴 🐎 🐎

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    This made me smile! Charming haiku!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Nice!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Test4 months ago

    Congrats - Super cute! Though horses kind of scare me!

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    I don't want a horse But, I wouldn't mind riding Atop a Mustang

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    My wife wants a horse. I'd just like to admire them in their fields, paddocks. I resonate with this poem and congrats, chum (using it again for cementation...is that even a word) on a fine little Top Story!

  • I really like this! It captures the idea of being able to enjoy something, like something, without having to be fully immersed in it, without having to be an expert. It’s ok to just enjoy simple things and leave it at that. Very cool!

  • How can anyone not want a horse? Okay, I no longer want a horse. And quite honestly, this haiku resonates greatly with me, for I still love the idea, look & sound of them.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    And I like hearing these in your haiku. I’d like a horse. Not good at taking care of things though..and I don’t have the pennies. ;)

  • Yes I love that sound and the sound of heels as well. Both are powerful in their own ways! Loved your Haiku!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    nice!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.